Initial one hour consultation is free!

Our History

Nicholson Gluckstein Lawyers is a personal injury law firm in Ottawa.  In 2020, Gluckstein Lawyers welcomed one of Ottawa’s leading Civil Trial Lawyers, Derek Nicholson, to our growing firm. With Derek as a key member of our team and lead lawyer of our new Ottawa location, Gluckstein Lawyers continues to take on the most complex personal injury matters throughout Ontario.

Derek brings to Nicholson Gluckstein Lawyers his experience of having been part of a former law firm with a rich history of excellence since 1877. Derek has built his reputation representing clients in hundreds of trials, mediations and arbitrations for over 40 years.

Historically, Derek’s firm has been honoured to have in its membership—two members of Parliament, four Judges, one Bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada, several Past Presidents of the Carleton Law Association and some of the best litigators in the Province of Ontario. Derek’s experience is what sets Nicholson Gluckstein Lawyers apart.


Thomas Arthur Beament (1870-1958):

Thomas Arthur Beament He was known to his contemporaries as “T.A.”, was raised in Ottawa, graduated in 1886 and then commenced his legal training. In the late 1880’s, legal education in Ontario consisted of a five-year apprenticeship served at local law offices augmented by lectures and periodic examinations conducted by the Law Society of Upper Canada. T.A. Beament originally practiced with Stewart Henderson at an office at 56 Sparks Street in the late 1890’s. By 1890 he was appointed King’s Counsel.

Warwick Beament (1898-1966) and George Edwin Beament (“Ted”) (1908-2005)

Warwick BeamentBoth sons joined their Father’s firm which then became Beament and Beament. In 1939, the firm entered upon enforced wartime dissolution with both Ted Beament and A.W.Beament being involved in active service with the Canadian Armed Forces. During his distinguished wartime service, Ted received the first of several lifetime achievement awards for his heroism and bravery in the service of our country.


George Edwin BeamentUpon return to active practice, Ted’s career blossomed and he became a President of the Carleton County Law Association, a Law Society Bencher and became a Life Member of the Law Society of Upper Canada. He received the Order of Canada, was a recipient of the Law Society Medal, CM, OBE, GCSt.J, ED, CD, LSM, LLD, Order of the White Lion, and was President of Canada’s Khaki University in the UK. Ted Beament proudly led the firm forward and was in active attendance until shortly before his death in 2005.

The Beament firm joined with the late Morris Fyfe, a legendary advocate, and together they carried on Ottawa’s leading litigation practice, widely known as Beament Fyfe. The firm expanded to other areas of practice until its merger in 1982 with the firm of GreenPoulin McKinnon & Hebert, resulting in the new firm of Beament Green, the name it still proudly carries today.

The Green Poulin McKinnon & Hebert firm had among its members Bill Green, a distinguished counsel who over the years acted as Crown Attorney and represented numerous clients as Defence and Plaintiff’s counsel, earning the respect of the Ottawa Bar as an accomplished litigator. He retired from active practice in 2003. John Read, who had joined Bill Green in 1978, quickly became a skilled advocate. He remains with the firm to this day. Hugh Poulin left the firm to become the Member of Parliament for Ottawa Center. Subsequently, the Honourable Mr. Justice Poulin was appointed to the Superior Court and after his retirement is still active in the Pension Appeal Tribunal. Colin McKinnon became a Bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada and was thereafter appointed to the Bench. The Honourable Mr. Justice McKinnon still sits in the Eastern Region.

Bernard Manton and Michael Hebert joined the newly formed Beament Green partnership in 1985 and expanded the firm’s already significant civil litigation capacity. The Honourable Mr Justice Manton became a Judge of the Superior Court of Ontario, of which he still sits as a Supernumerary.

In 1990, Derek Nicholson, Terrill Jameson, Bill Devonish, Tim Ray and Jeff Barnabe joined the Beament Green firm following the dissolution of the longstanding well established litigation firm of Hughes Laishley. The Honorable Mr. Justice Ray has recently been appointed as a Superior Court Justice in the Eastern Region replacing the Honourable Mr. Justice Manton upon his becoming supernumerary in 2007.

If you are currently involved in a civil or commercial dispute you can count on us to represent your interests, whether you are initiating an action or defending one.


Your initial one hour consultation is free and for cases we accept, you don’t pay unless we succeed. Contact us via the online form, email us at, or call 613-241-3400.